What Is Good?

I have been sitting in my room, quietly, waiting. Waiting to hear, waiting to know something different. And in this, I’ve known and felt in my heart there is so much more I don’t know. But how do I attain more knowledge and wisdom? Yes, I read the bible. Yes, I pray. Yes, I journal. Check, check, check, but do I listen? I don’t think I do, or best, not very well at all.

But in these passed few days I’ve been contemplating the goodness of God.

When I was in Mozambique inDecember of 2011 the song I would sing to the Lord everyday as I awoke was “Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; His love endures forever.” (Ps. 118:1) These words would be on my mind, heart, and lips as I went through the day working under the scorching sun. I meant it then, and when it comes to my lips, I still mean it.

But what is good, really?

Definition: good /go͝od/  Noun: That which is morally right; righteousness.

The bible says that God is good. 

Jesus calls God good, and in that also shows His divinity. (Mark 10:18; For those of you who are unaware, in context, this is one of the many places where Jesus affirms His divinity by the questioning of this rich young man that came to Him.)

The bible also says God will withold no good thing from you. (Ps. 84:11)

If God is good, that means He won’t withhold Himself from you! “You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13) Brothers and sisters, I urge you to ask for MORE OF HIM. Seek Him in your daily life. Walk in His grace, wisdom, mercy, goodness and righteousness.

Romans 8:28 says “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”

That good=righteousness…

But what is the ultimate righteousness? God.

So, in having our loving Heavenly Father, and knowing He is ultimately good and righteous, He is the best we can have! He is what we must draw near to.  “Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” (James 4:8)

Let us not live lukewarm lives, but lives on FIRE. Lives burning with passion that want more of Him. Just for HIM. Not for what He can give us, but for who He is. Join with me, meditate on Him.

2 thoughts on “What Is Good?

Leave a Reply

