In Obedience there is Learning

I’ve recently started working with 2nd and 3rd graders as an afterschool enrichment program intern. I have a class of 20 eight year old children,16 of which are energetic boys. It is extremely difficult to take control of the classroom, my kids are easily distracted and often speak over me.

As I was speaking with one of the women in my bible study, I shared with her that my desire is for these children to learn and have fun.

Then I joked and said, “Well, really I’d prefer for them to be obedient!” We both laughed and then out of my mouth came, “But really, in obedience there is learning.”

Woah! My own words hit me like a brick.

The Lord calls us to be obedient, too. How many times am I, are all of us as His children, disobedient? I can picture Him, in heaven, in all His glory, placing His hands on his head and sighing, as we repeatedly choose to disobey. If only we would obey, if only we would listen… IF ONLY I WOULD LISTEN.

How many times do we let the winds of this world come in between us and the still small voice of God? How many times do we let our worries get in between our relationship with God? Are we not listening to what the Lord has set before us?

As Christians, we learn patience, wisdom, honor,  and LOVE, when we obey.

1 Samuel 15:33 says this about obedience,“Does the LORD delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the voice of the LORD? To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams.” 

His heart for us is to listen to Him. Brothers, sisters, what He has to say us is important, for out of Him comes all wisdom and understanding. (Proverbs 2:6) He alone holds the power of the universe, He knows your heart, He knows your situation, He knows your future.

The Lord required me to be in this class, to have these children under my wings, so that I may truly learn His heart behind wanting me to be obedient.

He calls us to be obedient, not because He is demanding, but because He LOVES us. He wants to the best for us, He wants us to enjoy life, to enjoy Him, to learn and grow.

Leave a Reply

