A Lost Generation

I’ve been trying to wrap my head around this idea lately. I look at my brothers, my sisters, and myself and I see that many of us are lost. Not lost in a sense of not knowing who God is, but in knowing who we are for Christ.

After graduating from Cal Poly Pomona, I found myself on a year long adventure of serving the Lord everywhere, from the (literally) city dumps of Honduras to gypsy children in Romania, I loved it all. I was able to see God’s heart for people from all over, and how He loves each person, but I digress 

In this environment, I met other young Christians, each trying to figure out what God has for them, upon coming home from the mission field, I cam back to my home group of friends, which I realized are also in this “lost” zone. 

The questions and statements I often hear are:

  • What are God’s plans for me?
  • Am I walking in His will?
  • I don’t know what gifts He has given me.
  • I want to honor Him.
  • God, show me what to do!

All, which I think, are completely healthy. We are in those states of seeking, that state where we are waiting on the Lord.

BUT WAITING CAN BE HARD, REALLY HARD.

It doesn’t matter. 

Wait on the Lord.

David waited about 15 years before he became the King of Judah, and of course eventually all of Israel. That’s a long time, do you think you can wait that long until you see the Lord give you what He has promised for your life? It seems almost impossible, but trust in the Lord, and seek Him as your strength.

If you feel that you are in this state, I encourage you to continue to seek the Lord. Continue deep in prayer, continue to spend time in His word, continue to love Him with all your heart! But please do not forget that love is also an action, if you have it in your hands to love someone, whether that be your sibling, your parent,  or a random stranger, DO IT.

 He has called all of us to love. So spread the love, as cheesy as it sounds. He loves you infinitely and calls us to esteem others more highly than our selves.

1)   Love God with all your heart.

2)    Love others with Christ’s love..

3)   Love yourself!

Trust in the Lord. 

Isaiah 55:8-9

 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the Lord.“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

I know this was a bit of a rant, but if you feel this way know there are other brothers and sisters going through the same thing. Lift each other up, seek the Lord, wait upon Him, and LOVE!

Leave a Reply

